Permanent Convention and the Interim Agreement. Under these principles, the Council will have 21 members, including Canada, and must give adequate representation to:-

(1) The principal States of chief importance in air transport;

(2) Those principal States, not otherwise included, which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation;

(3) Those principal States, not otherwise included, whose election will ensure that all major geographical areas of the world are represented.

The Chicago Conference also produced two supplementary agreements, the Air Transit Agreement (the Two Freedoms Agreement) and the Air Transport Agreement (the Five Freedoms Agreement). These Agreements give the following rights:-

(1) The right to cross a foreign country non-stop.

(2) The right to land in a foreign country for fuel and for servicing.

(3) The right to carry passengers, freight and mails from the country of origin of the aircraft to any place in the world.

(4) The right to bring passengers, freight and mails back to the country of origin from any place in the world.

(5) The right of an aeroplane to pick up passengers, freight and mails in a foreign country, for conveyance to another foreign country.

(6) The right of an aeroplane to pick up passengers, freight and mails in a foreign country for delivery to another point in the same country. This right is commonly known as 'cabotage'.

Canada has signed the Air Transit Agreement to assist in opening up the airways of the world but has not signed the Five Freedoms Agreement, thus retaining full control over all rights to pick up and set down traffic in Canada. The Dominion retained its rights to enter into bilateral agreements with other countries as Canadian interests may indicate.

Bilateral Agreements.—Delegates from Canada and the United States met at New York City on Jan. 25, 1945, for the purpose of agreeing on services between the two countries and supplementing the Chicago Agreement. This bilateral agreement on regular air services supersedes the agreements made between Canada and the United States in 1939 and in 1940.

Under the new bilateral agreement the following routes are designated as United States routes, to be operated by carriers designated by the Government of the United States: Boston to Moncton; Boston to Montreal; New York or Boston to Quebec; New York to Montreal or Ottawa, but not to both on the same flight; Washington to Montreal or Ottawa, but not both on the same flight; Buffalo to Toronto; Fargo to Winnipeg; Great Falls to Lethbridge; Seattle to Vancouver; Seattle to Whitehorse: Fairbanks to Whitehorse.

Carriers designated by the Government of Canada may operate on the routes: Halifax to Boston; Toronto to New York; Toronto to Cleveland; Toronto to Chicago; Port Arthur to Duluth; Victoria to Seattle; Whitehorse to Fairbanks.

Section 2.—Government Control Over Agencies of Communication*

The Development and Control of Radio-communication in Canada.— First radio-communication (or,"wireless", as it is sometimes called) in Canada took the form of radiotelegraphy and was established in 1901 between Chateau Bay, Que., the terminus of the Government north shore telegraph line on the north side of Belle Isle Straits, and Belle Isle, Newfoundland. The stations were erected by the

^{*} Prepared in co-operation with the Department of Transport.